Home

images imgres

 

SHANE BRADFORD.

Bradford dipped books looks at how the paint forms a pattern and a narrative.
By submersing books into a multi coloured container of paint , when lifted out results in various patterns, and the the drips are left hanging on the page. Bradford is making his books unusable in one sense as they are no longer readable, but visually pleasing with colour and the dripping.This seems to create it own dialogue between the subject matter and the process.
His practice seems to be one that is ongoing, similar to mine , always looking for ‘newness’ inventing a new way, changing the direction from which we approach Art.
I have just come across his coloured dripped spoons and a Spade ( Digging For Love) it also make these useful objects unusable as a spoon , but a beautiful piece of art.
For me its about the merging and flowing of the paint, as in life and the slow disintegration of the planet, but with the use of colour to highlight awareness of losing everything. I believe that everything can be lost, but not everything can be found.

Matisse and his love of colour influences my work.
I try to put colour into my work whenever I can. Matisse In his later years has done some wonderful paper cuts, The mythical sun god APOLLO is a bright although the narrative is sad . His bold use of line and colour is way I would like to show my work. Little things stay in your memory and I am always observing and juggling my work ,in my mind and on the paper, trying different ways of expressing my art.

More recently I have become a fan of Julie Mehretu work . I love maps and travel and she has her own contemporary style and uses maps of towns and cities with abstract mark making and the build up of layers of many media such as acrylic paint, pen, pencil and ink. Sometimes her works flows and something it very architectural with her straight lines. It always full of movement and colour and has its own feelings, the line lead you to the focal point and sometimes cross to give another viewpoint. Her pictures keep you looking.Julie Mehretu lives and works in New York . Born in in 1970. In Ethiopia. Her way of painting is usually a build up of layers, using many media such as thick acrylic paint, pen, pencil, and ink. She has her own contemporary style. Maps of towns and cities with abstract mark making. Her latest painting called ‘Grey Area’ expresses an obsession with architecture and looks likes layers of graffiti. This hangs in the Guggenheim.

I have been experimenting with dripping method, with spoons .

20140429_165726

I would like to add this by Kandinsky.

Wassily Kandinsky, 1866-1944
Squares with Concentric Circles, 1913

“I applied streaks and blobs of colours onto the canvas with a palette knife and I made them sing with all the intensity I could…”  Wassily Kandinsky
“Color is the keyboard, the eyes are the harmonies, the soul is the piano with many strings. The artist is the hand that plays, touching one key or another, to cause vibrations in the soul.” ~Wassily Kandinsky

I can understand how this happens as I see colour in everything.

Leave a Reply

