Home

Rainbow Eucalyptus  Amazing colourful trees.

After a friend sent me a photo of these trees on a social media website I was absolutely blown away by their beauty and I knew I would have to find out more about them. They inspire me to explore colourful way of using paint. The Rainbow Eucalyptus is a tropical evergreen tree and the only species of the eucalyptus native to the Northern Hemisphere mostly seen in the Philippines and Indonesia also seen in Hawaii, Costa Rica  and there are some at the entrance to the nature reserve in Grand Cayman.

20140501_125226 20140501_125234

 

 

These are fast growing trees, up to three feet a year and can grow beyond two hundred and forty feet high. The nectar from the flowers makes good honey and the tree is used for wood pulp. I believe it is important to preserve and protect them. Their amazing colour comes from the shedding of the bark, it changes from light green to dark green and then to blue and light purple then to orange, red and yellow and finely brown and the bark drops to the ground, the bark shedding cycle then starts allover again.

When peeling the bark it feels moist ,as this tree likes lots of water. Trees which have had lots of water ,the barks peel off in larger pieces revealing large areas of colour. Tree with little water their bark is shed in thin strips. The trees oil has many therapeutic properties and used in many medicines

My painting will be of a build up of paint and I will try to manipulate in to a way that it forms a visual and tactile pleasing piece of work.  I have tried on paper but this will not support the amount of paint, so I am using two 40cmx40cms canvases as trail pieces before attempting lager ones.

So far the the staining of the canvas is good . The paint which is made by dripping paint on to cellophane so the paint does not stick , at the moment this is going ok but is hard trying to keep the paint strips thick enough to peel off. Applying more paint in some areas will help.

My work process in inspired by Frank Bowling’s drip and pour paintings. The paintings are to be in my Degree show and later for other exhibitions.

20140501_125226 20140501_125234

 

 

Above are photographs of the Rainbow Eucalyptus tree.

20140501_222652 20140501_222555

 

The above are pictures of my canvases. This is the first stage of staining the canvas.


20140502_115412 20140502_115419 20140502_115425

The above are pictures of my canvases. This is the second stage of adding shards of paint to the canvas.

20140505_154230

20140505_154221

These are the finished pieces . As experimental pieces I am quite happy with the result, the colours are great and have given the painting some depth by putting the dark colours on last.

The background staining of the canvas is too bright, I will experiment with a plain colour background to make the painting less confusing to the eye and to let the tree colours stand out.

I will now try another on a much larger canvas.
20140513_10540120140513_105351
20140513_105419
20140515_103340

20140515_103507

20140515_103440

20140515_10342620140515_10344020140515_103340

The above paintings show the progression of my paintings.

Working with many types of paint is proving very interesting as the properties are different so effects the way the paint dries.
so by adding acrylic over poster paint gives a good effect of curling at the edges.
Acrylic dripped first , then the paint will peel of of cellophane easy.

Here are shards of paint, waiting to be removed from the cellophane
20140519_162429

20140519_162339
Above are two paintings in process

I believe we have all been given the gift of nature
• I believe we have all been given the gift of nature, and I try to capture this quality in my paintings by use of colour.
• There is little no brush-work in my paintings; all my work is done using various tools like knives, cloth, sponge etc. and pouring. And I consciously avoid the use of a brush, because I feel more connected with the creation when I’m in direct contact with the paints and surface.

• With my paintings it’s difficult to put a label on my own style, especially as mine has changed so much over the years. In my earlier days my work was representational but as I grow as an artist I have left those restraints behind and now have a much looser, freer style and many painting s are abstract. I like to let things happen by accident and strive to make the marks look unintentional, not deliberate, and natural as in nature. I am fascinated with colour and its effects.
• Now in spring 2014 my work is a mixture of representative paintings of my outside practise and abstract experimental in my studio space.
• Within the last year my work seems to have gone full circle in my quest to high light the problems of deforestation, from bark rubbings and water colour sketches to outdoor interventions to studio abstract painting. In addition I have make short films of my paintings in progress and of the outdoor interventions.

Leave a Reply

